Our Departments

TUM School of Social Sciences and Technology consolidates its expertise in three departments: 

Department of Educational Sciences

Established in 2009, the TUM School of Education is Germany’s first faculty for teacher training and education research. Its founding mission was to raise the quality of training for teaching staff in vocational schools and performance-driven high schools (Gymnasien) in Germany. It has succeeded in establishing a uniform concept for the basic and continued training of teachers in commercial/industrial and in STEM subjects across TUM.


Department of Science, Technology and Society

The Department of Science, Technology and Society (STS) at the TUM School of Social Sciences and Technology is dedicated to understanding the larger ethical, social, political and legal dimensions of science and technology. Embedded in TUM’s unique innovation ecosystem, we are committed to enabling a more responsible and sustainable engagement with science and innovation through social science research, teaching and public dialogue – often in collaboration with partners from technical fields.


Department of Governance