Welcome to the School of Social Sciences and Technology

The TUM School of Social Sciences and Technology brings together a global community of researchers from the fields of governance, education, and science and technology studies. Our mission is to enhance the role of social sciences in interdisciplinary research, teaching, and outreach as integral part of TUM’s commitment to Human-Centered Engineering. 

Through reimagination of technology-focused social sciences in research, education, and practice, we help address some of the world’s biggest challenges, including public health, climate, social justice, and digital transformation.

Our Departments

Educational Sciences

Study with us to become a teacher for STEM subjects in high school or a teacher in the field of vocational education! You will receive one of the best educations in Germany. This has once again been confirmed by the Times Higher Education (THE) ranking. EDU is one of the best in Germany in the area of teaching and research!

Are you interested in research? Here, too, EDU at TUM is an international leader in interdisciplinary educational research. We open up thinking and foster scientific creativity with a focus on digital-based educational technologies and human-AI interactions, science communication and participation, and lifelong learning. Colleagues from psychology, education, data science and didactics work closely together to advance research.

Science, Technology and Society

The Department of Science, Technology and Society (STS) at the TUM School of Social Sciences and Technology is dedicated to understanding the larger ethical, social, political and legal dimensions of science and technology. Embedded in TUM’s unique innovation ecosystem, we are committed to enabling a more responsible and sustainable engagement with science and innovation through social science research, teaching and public dialogue – often in collaboration with partners from technical fields.

https://www.mcts.tum.de

School of Social Sciences and Technology

Die TUM School of Social Sciences and Technology bringt eine globale Gemeinschaft von Forscherinnen und Forschern aus den Bereichen Governance, Bildung sowie Wissenschafts- und Technologiestudien zusammen. Unsere Aufgabe ist es, die Rolle der Sozialwissenschaften in der interdisziplinären Forschung, Lehre und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit als integraler Bestandteil des Engagements der TUM für menschenzentrierte Technikentwicklung zu stärken. 

Durch die Neuausrichtung der technologieorientierten Sozialwissenschaften in Forschung, Lehre und Praxis tragen wir zur Bewältigung einiger der größten Herausforderungen der Welt bei, darunter öffentliche Gesundheit, Klima, soziale Gerechtigkeit und digitale Transformation.

Unsere Departments

Educational Sciences

Studieren Sie bei uns Lehramt für MINT-Fächer im Gymnasium oder Lehramt im Bereich berufliche Bildung! Sie erhalten bei uns eine der besten Ausbildungen deutschlandweit. Das hat auch das Times Higher Education (THE) Ranking erneut bestätigt. Die EDU ist im Bereich Lehre und Forschung deutschlandweit mit an der Spitze!

Interessieren Sie sich für Forschung? Auch hier ist die EDU an der TUM international führend für interdisziplinäre Bildungsforschung. Wir öffnen das Denken und fördern wissenschaftliche Kreativität mit Schwerpunkten in den Bereichen digital-basierte Bildungstechnologien und Human-AI Interaktionen, Wissenschaftskommunikation und -partizipation und Lebenslanges Lernen. Kolleg:innen der Psychologie, der Erziehungswissenschaften, der Datenwissenschaften und der Fachdidaktiken arbeiten hier eng zusammen und bringen die Forschung weiter.

Science, Technology and Society

Das Department of Science, Technology and Society (STS) an der TUM School of Social Sciences and Technology widmet sich dem Verständnis ethischer, sozialer, politischer und rechtlicher Dimensionen von Wissenschaft und Technologie. Durch sozialwissenschaftliche Forschung, Lehre und Dialog arbeiten wir als Teil der TUM-Innovation Community an neuen Ansätzen für verantwortungsvolle, nachhaltige und gesellschaftsorientierte Wissenschaft und Innovation — oft mit Partnern aus technischen Feldern.

https://www.mcts.tum.de